I Saw You With a Ticket Stub in your Hand

OK I’ll admit it.  I’ve been listening to a lot of Phish recently.  Don’t knock it till you try it!  They really are a unique band.  At this point you may ask me “OK, so how do Phish compare to The Beatles?”  To that I would answer that they are completely different animals… and therefore comparisons would be futile.  In a big way they are actually polar opposites, because The Beatles stopped touring in 1966 and consequently never performed many of their most well known songs live.  Phish on the other hand have forged their entire identity through their live performances.  But my goal here is not to prove their excellence.  A song of theirs that has been stuck in my head is called Golgi Apparatus.  Now you may be thinking “wait, isn’t that something I learned in biology class?”  Yes, the golgi apparatus is an organelle found in cells.  But it’s also the title of a Phish song!  I’ll say off the bat that this song is atypical for Phish, because in concert it is played pretty much the exact same way every time.   Nevertheless, it has their catchiness, it has their energy, and it has their weirdness.  (If you figure out what they are talking about please let me know)

Couldn’t find a good video but this gives the idea

Leave a Reply

